summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/meta
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorScot Salmon <scot.salmon@ni.com>2014-08-04 10:40:30 -0500
committerRichard Purdie <richard.purdie@linuxfoundation.org>2014-08-11 10:53:05 +0100
commit2d77fbf7e84288cdb0d93111c6eb91440597e9c3 (patch)
tree21587320df99684ceb44f776a90f47d71c8ad726 /meta
parentb32b819ec9be8e0cdd6a345a417bf7023d40412f (diff)
downloadopenembedded-core-contrib-2d77fbf7e84288cdb0d93111c6eb91440597e9c3.tar.gz
openembedded-core-contrib-2d77fbf7e84288cdb0d93111c6eb91440597e9c3.tar.bz2
openembedded-core-contrib-2d77fbf7e84288cdb0d93111c6eb91440597e9c3.zip
sysvinit: allow stack size configuration from rcS
For certain swap/overcommit settings (e.g. when overcommit is disabled on a real-time system), we need to limit the stack size used by initscripts. When the STACK_SIZE environment variable is set (usually in /etc/default/rcS), ulimit the stack size to the value specified. Make the stack size ulimit a soft limit, which allows the user to increase the stack size where required without having to run the respective application as root. (From OE-Core rev: 0b5db16929de7668174e74e428f3e4e90e76e1d8) Signed-off-by: Scot Salmon <scot.salmon@ni.com> Signed-off-by: Gratian Crisan <gratian.crisan@ni.com> Signed-off-by: Ben Shelton <ben.shelton@ni.com> Acked-by: Rich Tollerton <rich.tollerton@ni.com> Acked-by: Brad Mouring <brad.mouring@ni.com> Acked-by: Bill Pittman <bill.pittman@ni.com> Signed-off-by: Saul Wold <sgw@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Richard Purdie <richard.purdie@linuxfoundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'meta')
-rwxr-xr-xmeta/recipes-core/sysvinit/sysvinit/rc3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/meta/recipes-core/sysvinit/sysvinit/rc b/meta/recipes-core/sysvinit/sysvinit/rc
index 1f400d9e55..7ca41ae1ae 100755
--- a/meta/recipes-core/sysvinit/sysvinit/rc
+++ b/meta/recipes-core/sysvinit/sysvinit/rc
@@ -65,6 +65,9 @@ startup() {
# Set onlcr to avoid staircase effect.
stty onlcr 0>&1
+ # Limit stack size for startup scripts
+ [ "$STACK_SIZE" == "" ] || ulimit -S -s $STACK_SIZE
+
# Now find out what the current and what the previous runlevel are.
runlevel=$RUNLEVEL